Parkgate’s history

Parkgate boasts a rich mixture of quaint and grand buildings, many of them listed and some dating back to the 17th Century.

They reflect the interesting history of this area, most recently as a fishing village, struggling to survive the encroaching salt marsh, but more notably a century of use as a port for Chester, a sea bathing resort, terminal for packet ships to Dublin and ferry point for crossing to Flint.

The origins of the name Parkgate lie in the deer park, which was enclosed about 1250. 350 years later this estuary anchorage and the few houses that had sprung up in the park were first referred to as Parkgate.

Wilfred Grenfell, the well known missionary doctor who set up hospitals in the wilds of the Labrador coast of Canada was born at Mostyn House, the large black and white building, which until July 2010, was a school run by the Grenfell family.

Emma, Lady Hamilton, mistress of Admiral Nelson, was born in nearby Ness and returned to stay at Dover Cottage to take the sea-bathing cure for a skin complaint.

For more information, there are inexpensive booklets This is Parkgate and Parkgate Heritage Trail, for sale in Nicholls Ice Cream shop and Mozkitos.

More information:

More history

Parkgate Old Baths